Skip to main content
Palm Coast Friday, Jun. 24, 2016 4 years ago

Property Appraiser Jay Gardner and Tax Collector Suzanne Johnston re-elected without opposition

The supervisor of elections race has drawn only Republican candidates and will be a universal primary.
by: Jonathan Simmons News Editor

Two incumbent candidates for county offices were re-elected without opposition June 24 as the qualifying period for all local races ended. 

Flagler County Tax Collector Suzanne Johnston and Property Appraiser Jay Gardner faced no challengers as qualifying ended at noon.

No Democrats have registered for the supervisor of elections race, so the race between incumbent Kaiti Lenhart and challengers Abra Seay and Kimble Medley, all Republicans, will be a universal primary open to registered voters of any or no party affiliation. Whoever wins that primary wins the race. 

This year's supervisor of elections race will be first universal primary contest in Flagler County since the County Commission District 4 race in 2010 that ended with the election of Commissioner Nate McLaughlin, Elections Supervisor Kaiti Lenhart said. 

Former Flagler County Republican Executive Committee chairman David Sullivan qualified this week to challenge the County Commission District 3 seat held by Barbara Revels. One candidate, Gerald Eggert, withdrew from the the race for the County Commission District 1 seat held by incumbent Charlie Ericksen.

In the city of Palm Coast, Dennis McDonald, who has sued the city of Palm Coast twice and has run unsuccessfully for County Commission in the past, entered the race for Palm Coast mayor. Travis Kaufman withdrew from the race for mayor. 

There will be 116 different ballot styles in Flagler County for the upcoming elections — a record high number, Lehart said. 

Aug. 1 is the last day for new voter registrations and party affiliation changes before the primary.

Here's a list of candidates for local races as of the end of the qualifying period June 24:

(For a list that includes mosquito control district and community development district races, click here.)

Palm Coast Mayor (nonpartisan):
John R. Brady 
Milissa Holland  
Ronald Radford 
Dennis McDonald
(Withdrawn: Travis Kaufman)

Palm Coast City Council District 1 (nonpartisan):
Robert Cuff 
Troy DuBose
Sims E. Jones
Arthur McGovern Jr. 

Palm Coast City Council District 3 (nonpartisan):
Nick Klufas
Anita Moeder
Pam Richardson

Flagler County Sheriff:
Jim Manfre (DEM, incumbent)
Larry D. Jones (DEM)
Thomas Dougherty (NPA)
Donald Fleming (REP)
Rick Staly (REP)
John Lamb (REP)
Jerry O'Gara (REP)
Mark Whisenant (REP)
Chris Yates  (REP)

Supervisor of Elections (universal primary):
Kaiti Lenhart (REP, incumbent)
Kimble Medley (REP)
Abra Seay (REP)

Clerk of Court:
Tom Bexley (REP)
Douglas Courtney (DEM)

County Commission District 1:
Charles F. Ericksen Jr. (REP, incumbent)
Ken Mazzie (REP)
Dan Potter (REP)
Jason DeLorenzo (DEM)
(Withdrawn candidates: Gerald Allen Eggert [REP], Mark Richter [REP])

County Commission District 3:
Barbara Revels (DEM, incumbent)
Jason France (REP)
David C. Sullivan (REP)
Withdrawn candidates: Michael Andrew Groves (REP)

County Commission District 5:
George E. Hanns (DEM, incumbent)
Donald O'Brien (REP)
Denise Calderwood (REP)

School Board District 3 (nonpartisan):
Colleen Conklin (incumbent)
Jason Sands

School Board District 5 (nonpartisan):
Paul Anderson
Maria P. Barbosa
Sharon A. Demers
Myra Middleton Valentine    

Related Stories