Skip to main content
Palm Coast Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2022 4 months ago

Matanzas High School's Troupe 7108 wins accolades at the District 3 Thespian Festival

Chloe Irving and Emanuela Hartman won Best in Show for Duet Acting at the festival, held in November.
by: Guest Writer

by: Noel Bethea

Theater teacher, Troupe 7108 director

Matanzas High School's Troupe 7108 performed at the District 3 Thespian Festival held at Lyman High School in Longwood, Nov. 11-13, 2021. The troupe performed in acting, musical, and technical events. The students prepared last quarter in the acting and technical theater classes for this event, and the hard work, perseverance, and attention to detail paid off. The troupe earned high accolades in the following:

  • Best in Show: Duet Acting: Chloe Irving and Emanuela Hartman; 
  • Honorable Mention Playwriting: Isabella Martin;
  • One-Act: "We are the Sea," by Laura Lundgren Smith earned Straight Superiors (4 perfect scores) and will be representing district 3 at states in Tampa in March;
  • All-Star Supporting Actress: Rachel Kopp;
  • One Act nods went to crew, Jonas Winter, and cast, Andrea Oliveras;
  • Throughout the festival, troupe 7108 earned: 15 events scored Superior; 11 events scored Excellent.

Thirty-nine students attended the two-day festival held at Lyman High School with 12 chaperons guiding, supervising, and praising the students. It was a long day filled with dedicated students, parents, and teachers who set goals, strive to achieve those goals, and learned through the process. 

The cast and the crew of the One Act, "We are the Sea," by Laura Lundgren Smith will perform at the state Thespian festival in March 15-17, 2022 representing Matanzas High School, Flagler County, and District 3 in Tampa, Florida. 


Cast of "We are the Sea"

THE SEA: Whole cast

TIDES: (All female) Ally Carrier, Rachel Kopp, Isabel Bethea, Andrea Oliveras, Matt Van Houten, Eliana Kraer, Carly Hyers, Alexa Wingfield, Samantha Berkowitz, and Ella Marin

WAVES: (All male) Marco Ortiz, Ethan Fink, Jordan Hosier, Xavier Torres, Andrew Khamtheang, Austin McKay, and Nathaniel Pease

EBB TIDE: Ally Carrier, Unds. Samantha Berkowitz


ROGUE WAVE: Marco Ortiz

THE SAILOR: Ethan Fink

NORAH: Isabel Bethea

UNA: Andrea Oliveras, Unds. Matt Van Houten

ISEULT: Eliana Kraer

DECKHAND 1: Jordan Hosier

DECKHAND 2: Xavier Torres

JOHN: Andrew Khamtheang

ANNA KATHERINE: Samantha Berkowitz

UNNAMED MAN: Andrew Khamtheang

Related Stories