Skip to main content
Longboarder Kaspar Heinrici and International Distance Skateboard Association founder Jonathan Strauss celebrate breaking the Guinness World Record. PHOTOS BY SHANNA FORTIER
Palm Coast Saturday, Jan. 4, 2014 5 years ago

Longboarders speed past world record

by: Shanna Fortier Associate Editor

Twelve longboard skateboarders from around the county barreled down A1A in Flagler Beach Saturday morning at speeds of close to 25 mph in an attempt to enter the Guinness Book of World Records for the fastest individual mile on a longboard.

That goal was reached by 11 of the 12 racers, who finished in front of the previous record time of three minutes, 35 seconds, held by Steven Sanchez.

Leading the pack was Kaspar Heinrici, of Dallas, who smashed the record, finishing in a speedy 2:24.90.

Heinrici also participated in the Blue Sky Mile Challenge, where the previous record was set.

“Sanchez was really fast; I didn’t think that record would ever get broken,” Heinrici said before taking a victory swim in the chilly Atlantic. “To break that record was not an easy task.”

Another new record holder from the morning race is Sidra Boyer, of Jacksonville Beach, who not only broke the woman’s record but also the men’s with a 3:30.86 finish.

The International Distance Skateboard Association, founded by Jonathan Strauss, brought the race to Flagler Beach along with a half-marathon distance race that spanned Roberts Road and the Lehigh Trail to the Old Kings Road trailhead.

Rymfire Elementary Schools sixth-grade teacher Christopher Knox was among the local participants in the half-marathon. Normally a runner, Knox decided to try his hand a boarding and found that he finished the distance in shorter time.

The IDSA plans to bring their event back next year and hopes for more local participation in addition to the sponsored riders.

“We want more locals to come out,” Strauss said. “We’re here to promote the sport and make sure skateboarding has a place as alternative transportation.”


Record Breakers

2:54.90     Kaspar Heinrici
2:56.17     Will Frank
2:56.50     Robin McGuirk
2:57.20     Miguel Acevedo
2:59.62     Stone Selseth
3:05.01     Rick Schorr
3:07.22     Jesse Howley
3:09.34     Andy Andres
3:30.68     Sidra Boyer
3:31.00     Will Fogel



Related Stories