Skip to main content
Palm Coast Friday, Jun. 7, 2019 1 year ago

Flagler Schools wins prestigious international technology award

Flagler is the first district in Florida to receive this honor.

Press release by Jason Wheeler, community information specialist of Flagler County Schools

The International Society for Technology in Education has combed through nominations to select the organization’s 2019 award winners. Flagler Schools is among these winners, recognized as a 2019 ISTE Distinguished District. Flagler is the first district in Florida to receive this honor.

Each year this award recognizes districts that:

  1. Demonstrate effectiveness and innovation in the use of educational technology.
  2. Ensure equitable, accessible and appropriate learning opportunities for all students, aimed at improving outcomes and increasing engagement.
  3. Exhibit a progressive mindset when it comes to challenges in education and embrace new ideas and act on them.

The winners will be officially recognized at ISTE 2019, the largest and most influential education/technology conference of the year where “bold educators activate change,” in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, June 23-26.

Flagler Executive Director of Instructional and Operational Innovation Ryan Deising said, “This is truly a team effort. We receive tremendous support from our community, schools, teachers, parents and district staff. When talking with other districts, it becomes obvious how unique our county is, and how much our students benefit because of the support we receive and hard work put in by our staff.”

Flagler Schools Superintendent James Tager added, “This shows our community the value of their continued support of Flagler Schools. Funds raised through our half-penny sales tax go towards putting the most relevant technology in our student’s hands and in their classrooms.”

In addition to this award, the district also announced that its coordinator of innovation, Joey DiPuma, is being recognized as the Honorable Mention choice for the 2019 ISTE Outstanding Learning Space Designer Award. Each year, ISTE selects educators who design innovative spaces for student learning and contribute innovative ideas to this field.

Click here to see a full list of winners on the ISTE website.

Related Stories