Skip to main content
Bob Hilpertshauser, Harold Newsome, Tom Martone and Casey Ryan COURTESY PHOTO
Palm Coast Saturday, Apr. 27, 2013 8 years ago

Flagler County selected to hold state horseshoe tournament


Flagler County was selected as the state tournament site for April 2015. Under the direction of Tom Martone, president of the Flagler County Horseshoe Pitching Club, the tournament will be held at the horseshoe courts at Old Dixie Park, a 20-acre county park off South Dixie Highway, and will attract horseshoe pitchers from around the state. A final date is to be determined.

“This will be an exciting time for Flagler County, as visitors will be visiting our area for five days and four nights during the time of the year when hotels and campsites have availability,” said Casey Ryan, of the Palm Coast and the Flagler Beaches tourism office.

Rotary Club of Flagler County Foundation awards 12 scholarships
The Rotary Club of Flagler County Foundation has awarded 12 scholarships in partnership with the Flagler County Education Foundation. The scholarships are made possible through the fundraising efforts of the club's membership.

"We are proud to support the education opportunities of our community's future leaders," said Rick Staly, president of the Rotary Club of Flagler County. "We especially thank the community for supporting our various fundraising efforts that made this possible."

The club donated a total of $12,780 to the foundation. A committee of Rotarians, chaired by Dr. Maralee Walsh-McDaniel, reviewed more than 100 applications to select the scholarship winners.

"There are so many qualified and worthwhile applicants. The selection process is harder and harder each year," Walsh-McDaniel said. "We congratulate each recipient."

Recipients of the Capt. Dan Sharp Memorial Scholarship (special scholarships this year only) are Justin Wagner, Flagler-Palm Coast High School, and Roummoney Pen, Matanzas High School.

Rotary Club of Flagler County Foundation Scholarships from FPC are Thai Pagliaricci, Harlan Poeng and Brittany Jenkins; from Matanzas, Delaney Christine. Student-athlete recipients are Maeve Dineen from FPC, and Hannah Loder from Matanzas. Princess Place recipients are Marium Rahman, Steven Moseley, Stephanie Madaleno and Kristen McCorkle.



Related Stories