Skip to main content
Dennis Kline, Jesse Hunter, Mike Pius, Caryn Prather
Palm Coast Wednesday, Jul. 20, 2011 8 years ago

County lauds firefighters, medics

by: Mike Cavaliere Multimedia Director

To kick off Monday, July 18’s Flagler County Board of County Commission meeting, Chairman Alan Peterson took a moment to praise the world-champion Flagler County Paramedic Team. The team beat out 31 teams internationally, in May, at Rallye Rejviz, in the Czech Republic, to bring home gold for the second straight year.

“I speak for, I’m sure, all the residents of the county,” Peterson said. “We’re very pleased and proud of your accomplishment. You’ve brought great credit to the county, as well as to yourselves. You’re a fine example of the quality of paramedic service that the county employees provide.”

Flagler County Fire Rescue Chief Don Petito echoed Peterson’s praise.

“I can’t tell you how proud I am for these guys,” he said. “… The first time they went to Prague, they were told, ‘Please don’t come back.’" Next year, he added, the team was asked to return in 2012 as judges, so that other teams could have a shot.

Flagler paramedics dominated the competition by over 1,800 points.
Teams were challenged in 11 separate tasks, such as baby delivery and drug overdose, traveling to each event by zip line, freezing rivers and other harrowing passages.

This year’s team includes Dennis Kline, Mike Pius, Caryn Prather and Jesse Hunter. The group raises its own funds to travel and compete.

Let’s hear it for the boys

“We would like to recognize all teams that participated in and fought the wildfires in Flagler County,” Peterson announced, as a precursor to a five-minute video detailing the events of the recent wildfires, as well as teams’ combat efforts.

“Just a personal thanks for myself,” commission member George Hanns said. “You got the job done, and made everyone safe. Most everyone was enjoying everyday life when you guys were out there getting it done.”

“Having been here in 1998, and having evacuated … it seems that we’ve come a long way, and we thank you for that,” Nate McLaughlin added.

Department heads will be awarded badges and plaques following Monday’s meeting, on July 19.


Related Stories