Skip to main content
Palm Coast Thursday, Dec. 27, 2012 4 years ago

Congratulations 2012-2013 Teachers and Employees of the Year


Teachers of the Year and Employees of the Year who represent each school and department have been named for 2012-2013.

Each year schools are asked to choose one teacher to represent their school as the Teacher of the Year, and one employee from each school and department to represent the Employee of the Year. The schools and departments select their nominee based on specific criteria outlined by the Department of Education.

Each nominee submits a nomination packet for the District Selection Committee to review and score based on the state criteria. The top three finalist and the winner for the district will be announced at the Gala Event 6:30 p.m. Jan. 17, at the Flagler Auditorium.

The Flagler County Teacher of the Year and Employee of the Year will then compete in the Florida Department of Education Program for the State Title.

“We want to congratulate our winners and thank them for the significant contributions they make to their school and the district every day,” said Sabrina Crosby, Flagler Schools project coordinator.

The winners are:


Teachers of the Year
Colleen Newman, Belle Terre Elementary
Abra Seay, Bunnell Elementary
Rebecca Oshesky, Old Kings Elementary
LaShakia Moore, Rymfire Elementary
Connie Armstrong, Wadsworth Elementary
Susan Morden, Buddy Taylor Middle
Katie Hansen, Indian Trails Middle
Kerri Sands, Flagler Palm Coast High
Joann Nahirny, Matanzas High
Adrienne Harvey, Adult Education

Employees of the Year
Theresa Thibodeau, Belle Terre Elementary
Roxianne Smith, Bunnell Elementary
Antonia Barton, Old Kings Elementary
Steve Hammonds, Rymfire Elementary
Kathleen Bashaw, Wadsworth Elementary
Deborah Lane, Buddy Taylor Middle
Leonza Roberson, Indian Trails Middle
Judith Arnauto, Flagler Palm Coast High
Vicki Apperson, Matanzas High
Debbie Mazur,  Everest Academy
Karen O’Shaughnessy, Adult Education
Sue McVeigh, Government Services Building
Harry Dukes, Plant Services
Jacqueline Trimmer, Transportation Department

Related Stories