Skip to main content
Palm Coast Thursday, Jun. 10, 2021 2 days ago

Candidate drops out of Palm Coast mayoral race; 6 remaining

Kevin Cichowski has withdrawn from the race.
by: Jonathan Simmons News Editor

One candidate has dropped out of the Palm Coast mayoral race two days after the qualifying period ended, leaving six candidates in the running. 

The candidate, Kevin Cichowski, dropped out of the race on the morning of June 9. The qualifying period ended at noon Monday, June 7.

The Flagler County Supervisor of Electrons Office sent ballots to a printer on Tuesday, June 8, but the ballots had not been printed any the time the Elections Office learned that Cichowski was leaving the race, according to Flagler County Supervisor of Elections Kaiti Lenhart.

Had the ballots already been printed, reprinting them again would have cost about 20 cents per page, but because they hadn't been, the Elections Office will only have to pay $250 to send a new ballot without Cichowski's name. Cichowski, because he dropped out after the end of the qualifying period, will not be refunded his $1,140 qualifying fee.

Cichowski's withdrawal still leaves the Elections Office with some extra work: Now that the ballots will have one fewer name, the Elections Office has to redo its ballot testing process to ensure that the layout will be clear.

"It’s a couple days' work, but it’s better to do the couple days' work than have a ballot that’s confusing for voters," Lenhart said. 

The Elections Office is working on a tight schedule to meet a Friday, June 11 deadline to mail ballots to overseas voters. Lenhart expected to meet it.

She urged residents to research the candidates and turn out to vote. 

"I expect a good turnout," she said. "There's a lot of interest in this mayor's race. It’s a pivotal time for the city of Palm Coast."

The six candidates on the ballot will be David Alfin, Kathy Austrino, Carol Bacha, Doug Courtney, Cornelia Downing Manfre and Alan Lowe. There will be no runoff: The candidate with the most votes at the July 27 special election wins the race.


Related Stories