Skip to main content
Matanzas' Maddison O'Keefe (right) tries to chase down Flagler Palm Coast's Hannah Ferreira in the girls 200-yard individual medley on Thursday. ANDREW O'BRIEN
Palm Coast Saturday, Oct. 20, 2012 3 years ago


by: Andrew OBrien Contributing Writer

(Click “Like” to become a fan of the Palm Coast Observer.)

The Flagler Palm Coast swimming teams swept crosstown Matanzas Thursday afternoon at the Frieda Zamba Swimming Pool.

In the girls meet, FPC won the meet, 95-75.

The Lady Bulldogs’ 200-yard medley relay set the tone for the meet when it jumped into the pool for the first event of the afternoon.

FPC’s team consisting of Julie Concannon, Alexis Solomon, Hannah Ferreira and Carrie Hartnett touched in 2:06.34, just three seconds ahead of the Lady Pirates team.

Concannon also took first place in the 200-yard freestyle, finishing in 2:07.08. Matanzas’ Kylie Allen touched in 2:08.35.

Concannon and Allen also dueled in the 500-yard freestyle, and again, Concannon out-touched Allen.

Ferreira took first place in the 200-yard individual medley and in the 100-yard butterfly.

Jillyan Perrine, of FPC, took first place in the 100-yard freestyle, finishing in 59.38 seconds. Emily Petkovsek, of Matanzas, finished second in 59.64.

Petkovsek won the girls 50-yard freestyle when she finished in 27.12 seconds.

In the boys meet, FPC won the meet, 95-71.

Jan Pierre Vicens won the 200-yard freestyle, finishing in 2 minutes, 6 seconds. Alex D’Errico too second, finishing in 2:19.75.

Vicens also took first place in the 100-yard freestyle.

Matanzas won the 200-yard medley relay, which includes Brian Barth, Evan Johnson, Andrew Bryants and Jacob Purvis, finishing in 2:03.09, about eight seconds faster than FPC.

FPC’s William Watkins took first place in the 50-yard freestyle sprint, finishing in 24.65 seconds. Jacob Purvis, of Matanzas, touched right after, at 24.80 seconds.

Brian Barth, of Matanzas, took first place in the 100-yard breaststroke, finishing in 1:00.30.

FPC took first place in the 400-yard freestyle relay, finishing in 4:00.86. The relay team consists of Vicens, William Watkins, Dimitri Draskovic and Joshua Dixon.

Related Stories